Sonoma County Office of Education

Finalists for classified employee awards

04/14/2016 -

CSEY 16 The Sonoma County finalists for the statewide Classified School Employee of the Year (CSEY) program were announced yesterday at a reception held at the Sonoma County Office of Education. These school employees were nominated by their districts for the important roles they play in creating and maintaining positive school environments for the students of Sonoma County. They received extensive praise from supervisors and colleagues.

Renee Jackson CSEY Renee Jackson | Santa Rosa City School District | Administrative Assistant for Human Resources
“Every workplace needs a superhero. On July 12, 2010, Santa Rosa City Schools made a decision that would have a profound impact on the Human Resources Department for many years to come. On that day, we hired Renee Jackson, who to this day continues to demonstrate her superhero qualities in all that she does for the Human Resources Team.” —Jason Lea and Cindy Brennan, SRCS

Lourdes Acuna CSEY 16 Lourdes Acuna | South County Consortium/La Tercera | Instructional Assistant
“I often think of her as the glue that holds our program together. She is a conduit of information between the two teachers and provides loving support and a sense of stability to our students.” —Pamela Heck, Manuela de Jong, Special Education Teacher and Speech Therapist

Tom Goitom, CSEY 16 Goitom "Tom" Gebremicael | Jack London School | Custodian
“Tom is quick to respond to unexpected needs, personalizes his work in order to serve the individual spaces and programs on our campus, and demonstrates a positive attitude and collaborative approach that elevates our workplace. He models professionalism and kindness in his interactions with staff and students. I wish you could see our campus every day so that you could see the level of Tom’s performance over time. He is an exceptional custodian and sets a high standard for those around him.” —Betha MacClain, Principal

Sonoma County’s finalists were selected by a judging panel and will advance to the state awards program. State-level award winners will be announced at the end of April.