Sonoma County Office of Education

Charter Schools

Charter schools are independent, nonsectarian public schools that operate with freedom from many of the regulations that apply to traditional public schools. Created, designed, and operated by a group of teachers, parents, and community leaders, charter schools are authorized by a local public school district board or county board of education. They are paid for with tax dollars and open to all who wish to attend them.

The charter establishing each school is a performance contract detailing the school’s program, goals, students served, methods of assessment, and ways to measure success. Charter schools are accountable to their sponsor to produce positive academic results and adhere to the charter contract. The length of time for which charters are granted in California is five years. At the end of the initial term, the school may obtain a five-year renewal by petitioning the school board that originally granted the charter.

There are currently 56 charter schools in Sonoma County. There are differentl ways to access the list of charter schools and/or information about them.

CDE Listing of Sonoma County Charter Schools
This listing is from the California Department of Education’s official records of charter schools. It provides links to school websites and statistical reports.

Find a School
This is an online directory of Sonoma County public schools, which includes charter schools. School addresses, websites, and administrator contacts are provided.

Candy Amos, SCOE Information Systems Support Analyst
"I love all the activities SCOE does to bring us all together. I think that’s very unique." - Candy Amos, SCOE Information Systems Support Analyst