Sonoma County Office of Education

Five Sonoma County Elementary Schools Named as 2023 California Distinguished Schools

01/12/2023 -

California Distinguished Schools Logo 2023Five Sonoma County elementary schools were recently selected for the 2023 California Distinguished Schools Program, which returned this year after the COVID-19 pandemic temporarily suspended recording of state and local student data.

The Sonoma County honorees are:

  • Alexander Valley Elementary, Alexander Valley Union School District
  • Liberty Elementary, Liberty School District
  • Corona Creek Elementary, Waugh School District
  • Meadow Elementary, Waugh School District
  • West Side Elementary, West Side Union School District

The Sonoma County schools were among 356 selected statewide based on the state indicators specified on the 2022 California School Dashboard. The dashboard data, which was made public in December, includes test scores as well as data on chronic absenteeism, suspension rates, socioeconomic data, and other factors.

“Congratulations to the hard-working teams at our newest distinguished schools,” said Dr. Amie Carter, Sonoma County superintendent of schools. “This type of academic success only comes from educational systems that are disciplined in their instructional practices and relentlessly focused on achieving excellence. Culture, teamwork, and the ability to find innovative ways to improve learning is the key to this achievement.”

Alexander Valley Elementary was named a California Distinguished School for the first time, according to California Department of Education (CDE) records.

The recognition was the fifth for Liberty Elementary, which also was honored in 2020, 2018, 2006, and 2000.

The Waugh district’s Meadow Elementary won in 2004 and 1995, while Corona Creek was recognized in 2006 and 2000.

West Side Elementary was previously recognized in 1993.

The awards have been given annually since 1986, though no awards were given in 1991, 2015-17 and 2022. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years, meaning awardees hold the title for two years.

The distinguished schools will be honored in an awards ceremony on Feb. 16 in Anaheim.