Sonoma County Office of Education

Three Sonoma County schools selected for the 2024 California Distinguished Schools Program

03/06/2024 -

Distinguished schools logo

Three Sonoma County secondary schools were recently selected for the 2024 California Distinguished Schools Program, the first such awards given to secondary schools after the COVID-19 pandemic temporarily suspended recording of state and local student data.

The Sonoma County honorees are:

  • Healdsburg Junior High, Healdsburg Unified School District
  • Brook Haven School, Sebastopol Union Elementary School District
  • Twin Hills Charter Middle School, Twin Hills Unified School District

The Sonoma County schools were among 293 selected statewide based on the state indicators specified on the 2023 California School Dashboard. The dashboard data, which was updated in December, includes test scores as well as data on chronic absenteeism, suspension rates, socioeconomic data, and other factors.

“I am excited to congratulate our newest distinguished schools and their hard-working educators and students,” said Dr. Amie Carter, Sonoma County superintendent of schools. “This achievement reflects these schools’ commitment to strong institutional culture, a willingness to innovate, and a dedication to continuous improvement.”

Brook Haven School was named a California Distinguished School for the first time, according to California Department of Education (CDE) records.

The recognition was the third for Healdsburg Junior High, which also was honored in 2011 and 1990.

Twin Hills Charter Middle School was recognized in 2013 and 2009.

The awards alternate each year between elementary schools and secondary schools, meaning it is a two-year recognition.

Five Sonoma County elementary schools were given the two-year designation in 2023:

  • Alexander Valley Elementary, Alexander Valley Union School District
  • Liberty Elementary, Liberty School District
  • Corona Creek and Meadow Elementary, Waugh School District
  • West Side Elementary, West Side Union School District

The awards have been given annually since 1986, though no awards were given in 1991, 2015-17 and 2022.

K3i staff

Students at Meadow Elementary high-five the school’s mascot during an assembly to celebrate the school being named a California Distinguished School in April 2023.