Sonoma County Office of Education


The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English.

State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, sometimes referred to as "transitional kindergarten") through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards, and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

  • An initial identification of students as English learners
  • An annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level

    For more information please visit

    ELPAC Resources

    Domain Information Sheets

    These sheets outline the purpose of each domain and the task types and descriptions associated with them.

    Parent Guide to Understanding the ELPAC

    These guides, available in English and seven other languages, provide important information to parents about the ELPAC and why it is administered.


Questions may be directed to:

  • Jenn Guerrero,Specialist - Multilingual Learner
    (707) 524-2852,